Ventoux castles’ route
Let’s head out to discover the Ventoux castles. Some are still standing, architectural buildings standing proud from another time, others are in ruins, but all offer a window onto the past. For pretty façades or old strongholds revealing a remarkable panoramic view, there’s choice all over the département!
Towards the Drome
At the border between Vaucluse and the Drome, after Crestet, a feudal castle still watches over the little village of Entrechaux.
The owner is restoring the site, but its ramparts, dungeon, cisterns, and chapel can all be visited, and you can learn about the renovation project.
It’s very interesting, and more than anything conducive to a walk around the surroundings, particularly as far as the gorges de la Nesque below.
- Guided tours of the castle restoration site with the owner can be arranged year-round on 00 33 (0)6 27 84 59 97.
In the Comtat Venaissin / Le Barroux
Let’s head further South now, after Malaucène, to stop at Le Barroux castle.
Let’s admire the view of the Dentelles de Montmirail and Mont Ventoux, the vines and orchards, and see the strong silhouette of 12th-century fort appear, flanked by its dungeon and defensive walls: Le Barroux Castle.
The young owners have been restoring it, and have developed a whisky distillery there using einkorn. The premises are open to the public and guided tours are organised.
Fall in love…
- The artisanal distillery uses ancestral equipment, like a 1928 alembic brought back into use!
- Tour included in the Vaucluse Provence Pass.
In the Comtat Venaissin / Le Château de Thézan
In Saint-Didier, push the large gate of the château, at the heart of the old village, to discover an amazing stately home built around the year 1500.
Built on the foundations of a Gallo-Roman villa, for almost 3 centuries the Château was owned by a noble Comtadine family, the Marquis of Thézan-Vénasque. The property changed hands in the 19th century and was finally purchased in 1862 by a doctor from Carpentras who transformed it into a luxurious centre for hydrotherapy treatment. Becoming a clinic in the 1930s, it was closed in the 1980s, the château and its park being abandoned until being bought in 2019 by Pierre and Emmanuel, who were enchanted by this sleeping beauty and determined to bring it back to life.
The Château and its English-style park, dotted with contemporary works by Etienne Viard, can be discovered on guided tours from May to September.
- Opening hours: from 10:00 to 13:00 & from 15:30 to 18:30
- Guided tour times: 10:30 – 11:30 – 16:00 – 17:00
In the Comtat Venaissin / Le Beaucet
Even further to the south, after Carpentras, let’s stop off in the very pretty perched village of Le Beaucet.
Only the ruins are left, but its overhanging old fortified walls dominate all of the plain.
- The castle esplanade is open every day with automatic opening every day at 8 am and automatic closing at 6 pm (winter time) or 7 pm (summer time). Free admission.