La Bastidonne

Chapelle Saint-Julien


Tourist service in La Bastidonne :

In the heart of nature, discover the remains of the chapel and hermitage of Saint-Julien, built on the site of an ancient oppidum. A charming place well worth a visit.
Find out more
The chapel was built from 1620 to 1656. Construction lasted 30 or 40 years. This hermitage was lived a hundred years, until the French Revolution. The disused chapel and hermitage deserted gradually fell into ruin around 1800 or 1810. It is thought that the earthquake of 1812 accelerated their destruction. In 1912 during the summer chapel collapsed. The statue of St Julien, recovered in the ruins by the villagers, is visible at the Notre-Dame de Bonaventure, to the left of the altar. (The city council decided the restoration of the ruins of the chapel of St Julien and the development of this nice site that offers visitors a panoramic view over the Luberon and the Durance valley. This restoration began in June 1990, continued in the spring 1991 and in 1992. Even today, it continues to be restored.)

See less

See less
See less

Dates and times

All year round, daily.

Languages spoken

  • French


Chapelle Saint-Julien
Chapelle Saint Julien
84120 La Bastidonne
Tel : View number 04 90 09 63 95
E-Mail :


Longitude : 5.581236
Latitude : 43.69797