Jeanne de Flandreysy, collector and benefactress
4 December to 15 June.. Tuesday to Saturday 10-1/2-6. Closed holidays.
This is the one hundredth anniversary of the purchase of the Palais du Roure by Jeanne de Flandreysy. To celebrate, this exhibition focuses on the original and fascinating personality of Jeanne de Flandreysy.
En 1918, la femme de lettres Jeanne de Flandreysy rachète à Avignon le palais du Roure qui fut pendant quatre siècles la demeure d’une famille d’origine florentine, les Baroncelli, et que fréquenta Frédéric Mistral qui lui donna son nom.
Jeanne de Flandreysys, who invented her last name, was larger-than-life and accomplished work that is hard to classify. She was a muse of the Edwardian Age, her literary salon drew the great names of the literary scene in Paris. She joined forces with a millionnaire ship-owner who placed his fortune at the service of Provençal culture, and purchased the Palais du Roure in ruins. Her determination knew no limits and nothing resisted her - not even the roof that she removed to place a stagecoach on the second floor. Her flair led her to pourchase a Picasso from under the nose of all the connoisseurs. She was a philanthropist who housed the artists she sponsored. A socialite who turned many heads ... the "Abbess of the Palais du Roure" who spent her last years in a near-monastic esprit. Her strong will led to many achievements, exhausted her staff and kept tongues wagging in Avignon…
This exhibition tells the story of this emblematic figure and will be followed by a book on the subject, which will help anchor her place in history.
Adress / Contact
Palais du Roure
Palais du Roure - 3 rue du Collège du Roure