The magnificent Ansouis castle in the southern Luberon has been completely restored and is open to the public. The beautiful honour staircase leads you to ornate rooms emblelished with staff work and lovely furnishings. Go back in time to the Middle Ages and the Ancien Régime.
We also suggest a driving trip in the Luberon on the theme of: Les Châteaux et jardins en Luberon.
The castle's history goes back to the 10th century, when a military fortress was built on this high spot overlooking the AIgues Valley. There was a dungeon surrounded by a few isolated buildings. This fort belonged to the powerful families of the times - the Forcalquier family, then the Counts of Provence and as of the 1200's, the Sabran family.
The Wars of Religion drew to an end in the late 1500's, and the châteaux-forts began to be transformed into more gracious homes.
In the 17th century, the château d'Ansouis was renvoated, gardens and terraces were added, and new owners took over. First, in the 18th century, the Escalis, followed by the Villeuneuve family who made the castle into an Aix showcase, with the beautiful ornamental plasterwork.
The château d'Ansouis became a leading example of the lifestyle of the aristocracy during the Enlightenment.
The Sabran Pontevès families arrived in the early 19th century. The Duchess de Sabran-Pontevès saved the château d'Ansouis from ruin and had the chateau and the grounds registered in 1948.
Today the Chateau d'Ansouis is a unique venue in Provence, for the different styles can be seen - the Aix period embellishments and the home designed in the mid-18th century which marked the beginning of a more pleasant lifestyle at the time.
Open all year for groups and during school holidays, by advance reservation.
Open daily (only on guided tours), including Sundays and holidays, except on Tuesdays and Wednesdays
Guided tours only at 3 pm from 1 April to 15 June and from 15 September to November.
From June 15 to September 15 tour at 3 pm and4.30 pm.
Closed after the holidays of All Saints until Easter holiday
Length of visit 1 hour at 1:30, by the owners.