The museum houses a unique collection of paintings from the Middle Ages and the Italian Renaissance (over 300 Italian “primitives”). It includes the Campana collection, and important base of the Musée Calvet (Avignon school from the 13th to 16th Century) and medieval sculptures from the 12th to 16th Century from Avignon and the surrounding area. This set is essential to understanding the artistic creation in Italy during the Middle Ages and Renaissance period.
Former livery of Cardinal Arnaud de Via (d. 1335), nephew of Pope John XXII, then the Archbishop's Palace in Avignon, the building was rebuilt in the late fifteenth century by Archbishop Giuliano della Rovere, future Pope Julius II: crenellated facade pierced with mullioned windows. Introductory workshops in art history for adults. Free entry for Avignon residents, every Sunday and for under-18’s, from the urban community, every day from 1 September to 30 June. Free for under- 12’s. Open every day, from 10 am - 1 pm and 2 – 6 pm (except Tuesdays, 1 January, 1 May and 25 December).